UPS Honors Arizona Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving

UPS Feb. 17, 2015

UPS has announced 21 elite drivers from Arizona are among 1,445 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving. Arizona boasts 88 active Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 2,461 years of accident-free driving. Mark Woolston of Glendale is the state’s senior safe driver, with 39 years of accident-free driving under his belt. There are 1,726 total UPS drivers in Arizona.

Globally, 7,878 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor. Collectively they’ve racked up more than 221,000 years and more than 5.3 billion safe miles during their careers. That’s enough miles to travel to Mars and back 36 times. “My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus, and for the countless lives they’ve saved,” said Jerry Mattes, president of UPS West Region.

Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 52 years of driving without an accident. Ronald McKnight of Bronx, N.Y., is next in line with 46 years of safe driving. Sixty-two others have logged at least 40 years without an accident. UPS’s 102,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging more than 3 billion miles a year and delivering more than 4 billion packages safely.

Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928.

Names and UPS work locations of the Arizona drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor are Freddie Begay, Showlow; Jeffrey Brewer, Tucson; Joel Chavez, Yuma; Michael Diaz De Leon, Phoenix Hub; John Galvan, Phoenix Hub; Andres Guerrero, Phoenix Hub; Leann Jordan, Mesa; Anthony Martinez, Tucson; Neil Mellon, Phoenix Hub; James O’Donnell, Phoenix Hub; Lance O’Donnell, Estrella; Karl Pagel, Tempe; Aaron Petitt, Sierra Vista; Darin Salgado, Phoenix Hub; Dale Taylor, Phoenix Hub; Brad Thompson, Phoenix Hub; Victor Todecozy, Flagstaff; John Torrez, Phoenix Hub; Michael Touvell, Phoenix Hub; William Trainor, Safford; and Mark Weaver, Tempe.



Speak Your Mind

In Business Dailies

Sign up for a complimentary year of In Business Dailies with a bonus Digital Subscription of In Business Magazine delivered to your inbox each month!

  • Get the day’s Top Stories
  • Relevant In-depth Articles
  • Daily Offers
  • Coming Events